White Chili

I have to admit, Chad is usually the chili cook in our house, and he makes the most amazing “regular” chili. But I found this recipe for white chili, realized I still have about a million pounds of leftover Thanksgiving turkey in the freezer, and thought I would try it out.

Thank goodness I did. This white chili is so easy to make, and so delicious. It reminds me of my favorite restaurant white chili, except it’s even better.

If you’re counting calories you can leave the cream/sour cream out of this recipe and it’s still an amazing, spicy chili.

Recipe adapted from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe.

White Chicken Chili

Ingredients

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cans (15 oz each) Great Northern Beans, rinsed and drained
1 (14 oz) can chicken or veggie broth
2 cans (4 oz each) chopped green chilies
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup whipping cream
Cilantro to garnish (optional)

1) In a large saucepan or soup pot, cook the chicken, onion, and garlic in olive oil until chicken is cook through.

2) Add beans, green chiles, broth and seasonings.

3) Bring soup to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 30-40 minutes.

4) Remove soup from the heat and stir in cream and sour cream. Garnish with cilantro and serve!

I used the turkey instead of chicken, obviously, and I added a little water to my soup so it wasn’t as thick as the original recipe.

If you decide to leave the cream/sour cream out you’ll want to add about 8-12 ounces of water in at the same time you put the broth in. Either way, you can’t go wrong! I’m almost excited that we still have leftover turkey so I can make this again soon.

Check out the link for the original recipe if you want the slow cooker version of this soup.

Leave a Reply

