A light option for spaghetti sauce…

There is a reason I don’t cook. Well, to be honest, there are several reasons. But let’s just start with one.

1) I burn things. Ridiculously easy things that people should be able to cook, I manage to make unrecognizable. Scrambled eggs. Grilled cheese. And tonight, it was the garlic that I was supposed to be cooking in olive oil.

But accidents happen, so, with the help of my darling husband (the best garlic chopper I’ve ever met), I started over. And made this:

100_1390

Olive Oil, Garlic, and Red Pepper Spaghetti “Sauce”

This recipe makes 4 Servings:

Ingredients:

– enough water to cook pasta
– 1 lb fettuccine noodles
– 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil
– 4 garlic cloves, minced
– 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
– 1/4 teaspoon oregano
– 3/4 cup minced, flat leaf parsley
– ground black pepper to taste
– fresh grated Parmesan cheese to top

In a large pot, bring water to rolling boil. Add a pinch or two of salt and submerge noodles in liquid. Cook approximately 10 minutes, or until pasta has reached desired firmness.

While pasta is cooking, heat olive oil in a pan large enough to hold cooked, drained pasta.

Add garlic and cook over medium low heat until garlic begins to soften and turn golden brown (about 10 minutes).

Add red pepper, parsley, oregano, and one ladle of the pasta water, turn heat up a little and let sauce simmer for five minutes.

When pasta is done, drain it and place immediately in sauce pan. Mix sauce and pasta well (I use two forks) and let simmer another minute.

Serve immediately with salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese

I added the parmesan cheese to the recipe, but I read somewhere that in “real” Italian cooking you would NEVER, EVER add cheese to a sauce recipe like this. Luckily I am not a “real” Italian cook. And I like fresh parmesan. Get it in a block and grate it yourself, don’t use that stuff in the plastic container in your fridge. You know what I’m talking about.

Next time I may add cherry tomatoes for color. And next time I will try not to burn the garlic.

Leave a Reply

