Homemade Vegetable Noodle Soup

The new oven came yesterday!

YAY new stove!It’s nothing fancy, but it is such a relief to have an oven that works well and isn’t a million years old. I was not sad to see the old one go.

I had successfully gone a few days without doing any cooking since we had leftovers to tide us over, but the new oven needed to be christened. I made homemade vegetable noodle soup–well, if you’re a food snob, I guess I made SEMI-homemade soup since I didn’t make the vegetable broth from scratch. Let’s be realistic here.

Vegetable Noodle Soup
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook time: approx. 20 minutes
Makes about 4 servings

Ingredients

2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil (I was out, so I used vegetable oil)
1 cup sliced celery
1/2 cup sliced carrot
1 clove garlic, smashed (I diced it instead)
1/2 medium onion, diced (about 1/2 cup)
1/4 teaspoon of salt
1/3 cup of orzo (a small, rice shaped pasta)
4 cups low-sodium chicken broth (I used vegetable broth)
Small handful parsley or basil leaves, chopped
1 Tablespoon lemon juice
Freshly ground pepper to taste

*Other changes I made: I added about 1/4 cup chopped broccoli, and used 1/2 cup of orzo instead of 1/3 cup.*

Heat the olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Place garlic, onion, carrots, and celery into oil. Season with the salt, and cook until tender (about 6 minutes).

veggies in oil

Add the pasta and cook until slightly toasted and golden (about 2 minutes).

pasta added in

Add broth, and bring to a boil over high heat. Cook, covered, until pasta is just tender (about 8 minutes). Add parsley, lemon, and pepper and serve immediately.

finished productBecause I added the extra veggie (the broccoli) and some extra pasta, the soup was a little thicker. I would add a little more broth next time and cut back to the original amount of pasta. I’d leave the broccoli in.

I completely left out the lemon juice because we didn’t have any in the house.

I used parsley, since that’s what we had in the house. Next time I’ll leave that out and use basil instead.

You can freeze any leftovers.

Over all it was pretty good, although I like crock pot soups better. You can tell when a soup has been simmering all day, it just tastes better. But this soup was husband tested and husband approved, so I must have done something right.

Leave a Reply

