Alfredo Sauce

I love, love, love fettuccine Alfredo. Yes, it’s bad for you, and yes, it’s fattening. I don’t care. It’s my comfort food. But, only if it’s homemade. I have never found a canned Alfredo sauce that is worth anything. That is where this recipe comes in.

I found a basic Alfredo recipe online and played around with it until I ended up with this incredibly easy (and delicious) recipe:

Alfredo Sauce

1 pint heavy whipping cream
1/2 cup butter
1 1/2 cups Parmesan cheese, grated (I add about a little more, just to make the sauce thicker)
1 clove of garlic (can sub 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon garlic flakes)
Approx. 1 Tablespoon oregano

In a medium saucepan, on medium low heat, combine whipping cream, butter, garlic, and oregano. Stir as butter melts. Once butter is melted and ingredients have been mixed in pan, add cheese slowly, a half a cup at a time so cheese has time to melt. Sauce will thicken upon standing.

We had this sauce with cheese and spinach filled tortellini, found in the pasta section of your grocery store. Maybe someday I will be hardcore enough to make my own pasta. Today is not that day.

alfredo

I also sauteed some portabello mushrooms for Chad to put in his. I am not a huge fan of mushrooms, but he loved it.

100_1457

With mushrooms...

I cannot explain how much I love this sauce. It tastes great as leftovers. You can add broccoli or chicken to it as well, to change it up a little bit. Bake some breadsticks to go with it, and you have a perfect meal. And it’s much better (and cheaper) than anything you can get at a pasta restaurant.

Leave a Reply

