“Chicken” Alfredo Pot Pie

I am a procrastinator. Anyone who knows me will tell you that. I will attempt to update this recipe blog on a fairly regular basis for whoever (whomever?) may be reading, but I make no promises.

In case you haven’t noticed a distinct lack of meat in my other recipes (all three of them), this one makes it pretty obvious. I am a vegetarian, so I don’t eat meat.  The “chicken” part of this dish is chicken-style soy-protein patties. Sounds yummy, huh? Actually, they are really good, and taste a lot like grilled chicken.

If you are going to use the soy protein patties, I suggest Morningstar Farms brand. Chad thought it was real chicken at first.

“Chicken” Alfredo Pot Pie
Recipe adapted from Betty Crocker Easy Everyday Vegetarian
6 Servings
530 calories/serving; 280 calories from fat

1 can (11 oz) refrigerated breadsticks
4 frozen grilled “chicken” patties
1/3 cup of milk
1 jar (16 oz) alfredo pasta sauce
1 bag frozen broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, thawed and drained
2 Tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Unroll breadstick dough; seperate at perforations into 12 breadsticks. Set aside. On small microwavable plate, microwave “chicken” patties on High 30-45 seconds, until slightly thawed. Cut patties into cubes.

In 3-quart saucepan, mix pattie cubes, milk, Alfredo, and veggies. Heat to boiling, stirring occasionally. Spoon into ungreased 3 quart baking dish.

Twist each breadstick; arrange over sauce mixture, stretching strips to fit if neccessary. Sprinkle with cheese and Italian seasoning.

Bake uncovered 20-30 minutes, until breadsticks are deep golden brown.

pot pie

The breadstick dough I got only made eight breadsticks, and I twisted them to make four larger ones.

Other changes I made:

I left out the cauliflower and added in some portabello mushrooms, mainly because I hate warm cauliflower and we had  leftover mushrooms in the fridge.

I also made the Alfredo sauce from scratch (see recipe here).

This dish was easy to make, delicious, and great as leftovers the next day, as long as you ignore the insane amount of calories. I just plan on spending extra time on the treadmill after a meal like this.

Plus I got to make it in my really cute Paula Deen pie dish. Perfection.

Leave a Reply

