Risotto

Risotto is one of those fancy cooking terms that I always heard real chefs throw around. Although, anything other than “microwaveable” is kind of fancy to me, the non-cook.

Then I got this amazing vegetarian cookbook (Betty Crocker Easy Everyday Vegetarian) that had SEVEN different risotto recipes in it. That is when I learned that it is just a rice dish and not terribly fancy at all. I also decided that if the Betty Crocker people think I need seven different recipes, maybe I should learn to make it.

If you’ve never made risotto, let me just tell you that it is kind of a pain. This isn’t a dish you can put on the stove and walk away from (those are my favorites), so be prepared.

Classic Risotto

Total cook time: 55 minutes
Makes 4 Servings
670 Calories/serving

Ingredients

6 cups vegetable broth
2 Tablespoons butter or margarine
1/4 cup olive or vegetable oil
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
2 Tablespoons chopped, fresh parsley
2 cups uncooked Arborio rice (or med. grain white rice)
1 cup dry white wine OR vegetable broth
1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon coarsely ground pepper

Heat 6 cups of broth in 3 quart sauce pan over medium heat.

Meanwhile, heat butter and oil over medium-high heat in a 4 quart saucepan. When butter is melted, add onion and parsley. Cook about five minutes, stirring frequently until onion is tender.

Stir in rice and cook, stirring occasionally until edges of rice are translucent. Stir in wine and cook about 3 minutes stirring constantly until wine is absorbed.

Reduce heat to medium and pour 1/2 cup of hot broth over rice mixture. Cook uncovered, stirring frequently, until broth is absorbed. Continue cooking, adding 1/2 cup of broth at a time and stirring until the broth is absorbed. Rice should be almost tender, and mixture should be creamy. Remove from heat.

Stir in cheese and pepper.

**I also added two minced garlic cloves which I cooked in with the onions and parsley. It’s not necessary, the recipe is good without it, but if you like garlic it is a good addition.**

This dish was so filling and delicious. The recipe said it made four servings, but I can’t imagine it only feeding four. I had less than a serving size and I couldn’t even finish it.

Chad thought it was really good, too, so this recipe is officially Husband Approved. He did not, however, approve the picture, since he said that it doesn’t look nearly as good as it actually was.

We’re going to my mom’s this coming week for Thanksgiving, and I have a recipe for Pumpkin Risotto that I plan on trying while we are there. I’ll post that (and my other Thanksgiving recipes) when I get a chance.

Leave a Reply

