Tortellini Soup

There are very few soups that I have tried that I haven’t liked, and I especially love making soup. I mean, is there anything better than homemade soup on a winter night? Nope. didn’t think so.

I decided to make this soup because it calls for cheese filled tortellini, which I thought was interesting.

Tortellini Soup

Cook Time: 40 minutes
Makes 5 servings
280 calories/serving

Ingredients

2 Tablespoons butter or margarine
1 medium celery stalk, chopped
1 medium carrot, chopped
1 small onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
6 cups water
2 extra-large vegetable bouillon cubes
2 1/2 cups dried cheese filled tortellini (10oz package)
1 Tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon pepper
freshly grated Parmesan cheese

1) In 4-quart soup pot, melt butter over medium heat. Add celery, carrot, onion, and garlic. Stir vegetables frequently, cooking until tender.

2) Stir in water and bouillon cubes and heat to boiling. Reduce heat to low and stir in tortellini. Cover and simmer for approximately 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, until tortellini are tender.

3) Stir in parsley, nutmeg, and pepper. Simmer for 5-10 minutes.

4) Sprinkle individual servings with cheese if desired.

I could not find vegetable bouillon cubes to save my life. If you’re an omnivore you can always use chicken or beef bouillon cubes. I ended up getting a vegetable soup base, which was next to the bouillon cubes. It looks like paste, and to be honest was kind of gross. But it made good soup.

I was a little iffy about putting nutmeg in a soup, but as I have said many times, I am not a real cook, so I went with it. If you completely hate nutmeg you can leave it out, but honestly, this soup was so good I would hesitate to change any ingredients. As Chad said, once you taste the soup, the nutmeg makes sense.

This recipe really was delicious and we will definitely be making it again.

**recipe from Betty Crocker’s Easy Everyday Vegetarian cookbook.**

Leave a Reply

