Ricotta Gnocchi…

Gnocchi, like risotto, is one of those terms that real chefs throw around. Because of that, I just assumed it was difficult to make, or complicated in some way. Really it’s just an Italian dumpling. In fact, the only thing complicated about it was that the recipe I was using was that it had every ingredient listed in grams so they had to be converted to ounces. Well, at least they did for me…what do I know about grams?

Of course, AFTER I had already done that I found the recipe I was using in a google search and someone had already done all the converting. Would have been helpful to know about two hours earlier.

Ricotta Gnocchi

Total Cook Time: about 30 minutes
Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 (8 ounce) container ricotta cheese
2 egg yolks
1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 cup all-purpose flour, more as needed

1)  Mix together the ricotta cheese, egg yolks, Parmesan Cheese, salt, pepper, and garlic powder in a large bowl until evenly combined. Mix in 1 cup of flour. Add additional flour if needed to form a soft dough.

2) Meanwhile, bring large pot of water to a rolling boil. Salt generously and reduce heat until water bubbles lightly.

3) Divide the dough into 3 or 4 pieces, and roll into 1/2-inch-thick ropes on a floured surface. Cut each rope into 1-inch pieces, and place on parchment paper or a lightly floured baking sheet.

4) Boil gnocchi until they float to the surface (1-2 minutes). Drain and serve with pasta sauce, brown butter sauce, or a pesto.

Let me just say that this recipe is *SO* good. Chad and I both loved it and I will definitely file it away to use again.

This is a simple, easy dinner to make, and perfect for those nights when you just really don’t want to fuss with anything. Add some fresh veggies as a side and it’s the perfect meal.

If you want to make it more homemade, you could always make your pasta sauce from scratch. I’ll have a recipe for homemade pasta sauce sometime after the holidays.

Speaking of the holidays, I got all my baking supplies today. $90 later I think I may be getting in over my head with all the baked goods I want to make this year. But, at the very least, Christmas baking should provide some comic relief. I’ll have about 8 new candy and cookie recipes for you when it’s all over with.

In case I get insanely busy in the next week, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

