Christmas Baking-Part 2-Cookies!

By the time I got around to baking the cookies, I was pretty much ready to be done. Because of that, I think I only got a picture of one of the kinds of cookies I made.

I was originally going to make four different types of cookies, but that got cut to three pretty quickly and then eventually to two. So here they are:

Caramel filled Chocolate Cookies

1 cup butter
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
1 Tablespoon sugar (put in a bowl and set aside)
2 1/4 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
48 Rolos candy

1) Beat butter until creamy. Add sugars and beat well. Add eggs and vanilla and mix.

2) Combine flour, baking soda, and cocoa. Gradually add to butter mixture and combine well. Cover and chill 2 hours.

3) Divide dough into four parts, then divide each part into 12 pieces. Press a piece of dough around a rolo and roll into a ball.

4) Dip into sugar mix. Place cookies 2 inches apart and bake 8 minutes.

Chocolate Peppermint Pinwheel Cookies

I used Alton Brown’s recipe for this, so I’ll just link you to it here.

I love both these recipes. The chocolate cookies are so amazing, my mouth is watering just thinking about them. And the peppermint pinwheel cookies have the perfect subtle peppermint flavor. They were big hits with the family.

I also made chex mix, which I make every year. I’ll put the recipe in here, but it’s just the normal recipe you find on any box of Chex cereal.

Original Chex Mix

6 Tablespoons butter
2 Tablespoons Worcestershire
1 1/2 teaspoons seasoned salt
3/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon onion powder
3 cups Corn Chex
3 cups Rice Chex
3 cups Wheat Chex
1 cup mini pretzels
1 cup garlic bagel chips

1) Heat oven to 25o degrees

2) In large roasting pan, melt butter in oven. Stir in seasonings.

3) Gradually stir in remaining ingredients until evenly coated.

4) Bake 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes. Cool on paper towels and store in air tight container.

If you’re a vegetarian, pay attention to what brand of Worcestershire sauce you get. Most has anchovies as an ingredient.

I always add WAY more of the seasonings than this recipe calls for, but I like my chex mix strong.

I’m actually getting back in the kitchen this week, after a long hiatus due to the holidays and having so many left overs.

I did have some amazing meals with my family. My grandmother made the best veggie chili. My mother in law had breakfast at her house, completely with gravy that I could actually have (I was so excited about that) and vegetarian sausage links. SO good. And my step-mother in law made a pumpkin lasagna that I will be replicating in the near future. I always think of pumpkin as being a dessert food, but it was SO good in the lasagna dish.

Anyway, I have a curried ravioli dish I need to post that we had a couple nights ago, so that’s up next. Hope everyone had amazing holiday breaks!

Leave a Reply

