Tomato Soup

I hate winter. I mean really, honestly, actively hate winter. It’s cold. It snows. Our garage is currently being used as storage (we have too much STUFF) so I have to scrape my car off and wait for it to warm up. Basically, winter is crap.

The only good things about winter are the holidays and making home made soup. I am just learning to cook and soup is rapidly becoming one of my favorite things to make. Mostly because you have a lot more leeway in soup, you can customize it to your taste, and there are ALWAYS left overs.

This soup (which will henceforth be known as “The Best Tomato Soup I’ve Ever Had”) was delicious. This recipe was my grandmother’s and I have no idea where it came from.

(The Best) Tomato Soup (I’ve Ever Had)

Ingredients:

1 can (28 oz.) diced tomato (the kind that is flavored with basil, garlic and oregano)
1 can (28 oz.) crushed tomato
3 1/2 cups low sodium veggie broth
2 Tablespoons diced onion
2 cloves of garlic, diced
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 1/2 Tablespoons granulated (white) sugar
4 Tablespoons butter
1/2 teaspoons dried basil
1/8 tsp. fresh-ground black pepper
Parmesan or Asiago cheese for garnish (optional)

1) Melt butter in large soup pot.

2) Add all other ingredients. Bring mixture to a boil.

3) Reduce heat and let simmer for at least an hour.

4) Sprinkle individual bowls of soup with cheese (optional)

This soup was amazing. I can’t say it enough. I’ve never had a tomato soup that was so filling. It was delicious and perfect served with grilled cheese. It was a chunky version, you can always use an immersion blender, or run it through your regular blender if you don’t like chunky soup. It was exactly the kind of dinner we needed after a day of snow and cold weather.  I will definitely be making this one again.

Leave a Reply

