Taco Casserole

I have been neglecting this blog for a little while. It isn’t entirely my fault. I HAVE been cooking, but a lot of what we’ve had in the last week have been repeats. We had the garlic and red pepper pasta one night. We’ve had vegetarian chili. You get the idea.

Plus I spent all last weekend baking and decorating a strawberry and white checkerboard cake, so I was definitely not going back in the kitchen to do anything complicated for a while.

But today, I decided I should actually cook. Or, more accurately, throw a bunch of ingredients in the slow cooker, ignore it all day, and see what came out.

Taco Casserole

Makes 4 servings
470 calories/serving

Ingredients:

3 cups frozen soy burger crumbles (You can sub in 1 lb ground beef/chicken/turkey/whatever)
1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes with green chilies, undrained
1 (10 3/4 oz) can tomato soup
1 package taco seasoning
1/2 cup water
6 corn tortillas, cut into 1/2 inch strips
1/2 cup sour cream
1 cup cheddar cheese
3 medium green onions, sliced

1) Spray 3 quart slow cooker with cooking spray. In prepared slow cooker, mix crumbles, tomatoes, soup, seasoning, and water. Gently stir in tortilla strips.

2) Cover and cook on low heat for 4-5 hours.

3) Spread sour cream over casserole. Sprinkle with cheese. Cover and let stand about 5 minutes (until cheese is melted). Sprinkle with onions.

This recipe came from my Betty Crocker Easy Everyday Vegetarian cookbook. I loved this cookbook when I first got it, and I still have a few recipes that I’ve made from it that I think are amazing. This was not one of those amazing recipes.

My issues with this recipe are:

*Anything made in a slow cooker is not a casserole. Sorry, Betty Crocker, maybe I just don’t get it, but this was really more of a strange soup than anything.

*The amount of cheddar and sour cream seem excessive to me. To cut back on calories, I used light sour cream and added that after casserole was plated. That way I could use less than what would have been on a serving had I prepared it the way the recipe suggested. If I make this again I would cut the cheese in half and probably use vegan cheese.

*It just wasn’t anything special.

The cookbook says the recipe serves 4, but the portions would be pretty big. I think if you were serving 4 you would probably have leftovers.

In the end, this recipe was okay, but I felt like it was missing something. Something crunchy. Perhaps a taco shell.

Considering I did just turn the slow cooker on and forget about it, I really can’t complain too much. Next time I’ll just make regular tacos.

Leave a Reply

