Baked fries

I originally set out to make homemade french fries. I was craving them, and I think Michael Pollan (<–that is a link to his website) is pretty much a genius when he says that you should only eat junk food if you make it at home. Mostly because how often are you REALLY going to feel like making french fries from scratch? Probably not often.

So, Michael Pollan=very smart. He’s an author and appears in the documentary Food, Inc. If you haven’t seen that, you should. Pollan also has a lot of other smart “food rules”. Maybe in the near future I’ll blog about some of them.

He isn’t a vegetarian, he doesn’t push for people to be vegetarian, he just talks a lot about the evolution of food, and how to eat what is good for you (a lot of fruits and veggies, less foods with preservatives, organic, and shopping local etc). It’s very interesting…at least to me. 🙂

But, back to the fries. I wanted real french fries. The recipe I was going to use had ingredients to coat the fries in, then they were just supposed to be fried in vegetable oil. Sounds simple, right?

I cannot fry things. I have never been able to, so I don’t know why I thought this would be any different. I did a couple as a test run and they did not turn out at all, so instead I used the rest, seasoned them differently, and baked. They were AMAZING.

I eye-balled a lot of the seasoning, but here is the basic idea:

Baked Fries

*I don’t have a picture, my camera batteries were dead. But they looked like fries.**

Ingredients:
Serves 4-5

2 large baking potatoes
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 1/2 teaspoons seasoned salt

1) Wash and cut potatoes into fries.

2) Toss fries with olive oil.

3) Sprinkle with sea salt, pepper, and seasoned salt. Toss fries to evenly coat.

4) Spread fries onto two baking sheets (spray sheets with cooking spray to prevent sticking).

5) Lay a piece of aluminum foil over baking sheet and cook at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.

6) Remove aluminum foil and cook for an additional 15-20 minutes until fries start to crisp.

**All the seasoning measurements can be changed to suit your taste. As I said, I eye-balled it when we made these, so this is my best guess as to quantities.*

These fries were so good, and I was really surprised at how much I liked them. I had my heart set on crispy fried french fries, but I’m glad that didn’t work out because these were even better. Not as crispy, but still delicious.

Next time we make them I’ll try to remember to take a picture (and to have the camera battery charged).

Leave a Reply

