Butternut Squash Soup

I love butternut squash. Love, love, love it. I love it in soup. I love the smell of it when you first cut into it. I just love it. I wish I had more recipes that called for it. I plan on finding some a.s.a.p.

I know butternut squash soup is more of an autumn dish, but I was really craving butternut squash this week, so I decided to make it anyway.

This is a slow cooker recipe. I love making it on a lazy day when I’m going to be home to smell it cooking.

**I adapted this recipe from Betty Crocker Easy Everyday Vegetarian.**

Butternut Squash Soup

Serves 6
240 calories/serving

Ingredients

2 Tablespoons butter or margarine
1 medium onion, chopped
1 butternut squash (2 lb) peeled and cubed
2 1/4 cups vegetable stock
1/2 teaspoon dried marjoram leaves
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, cubed

1) In 10-inch skillet, melt butter over medium heat. Cook onion in butter, stirring frequently until tender.

2) In 3 or 4 quart slow cooker, mix onion and remaining ingredients EXCEPT cream cheese. Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

3) In blender, place 1/3 of soup mixture and blend. Add another 1/3 of mixture and blend. Add last 1/3 of soup mixture and blend until smooth. Return mixture to slow cooker.

4) Using a wire whisk, stir in cream cheese. Cover and cook on low for another 30 minutes, stirring occasionally with whisk until cheese is melted and soup is smooth.

The original recipe called for vegetable bouillon cubes and water instead of the veggie stock, but I could not find veggie bouillon cubes at any of the stores I went to. Granted, I only tried like, two before I called it quits and decided to sub in the stock.  Using the stock is just as easy anyway.

I love this soup. And luckily Chad agrees. Sometimes we have it with grilled cheese, but tonight I just threw some grapes on the side. Next time I want to make homemade bread with it. Perfect dinner for a cold night.

Leave a Reply

