Pumpkin Lasagna

As is fairly evident by this recipe blog, I don’t eat meat. This is a fairly recent transition, I think it’s been about 8 months since I started cutting meat out of my diet. It hasn’t been easy, and there have been times that I’ve wanted to go back to cooking with/eating meat just for convenience sake. But I watched a movie (The Cove…go rent it) and read a book (Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer) recently that renewed my desire to go meat free, and I’m adding fish to that. Before, even though I wasn’t eating meat, I was still eating fish. This has absolutely nothing to do the recipe I’m about to post, I just wanted to plug that documentary and the book. 🙂

My family has been really supportive of me being a vegetarian, and over the holidays a lot of family actually incorporated vegetarian options into holiday dinners. This is one of those recipes.

Pumpkin Lasagna

Ingredients:

1/2 lb sliced fresh mushrooms
1 small onion, chopped
1/4 teaspoon salt + another 1/4 teaspoon of salt
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 can (15 oz) solid-pack pumpkin (not pie filling)
1/2 cup half and half cream
1 teaspoon dried sage leaves
Dash of pepper
9 no-cook lasagna noodles
1 cup reduced-fat ricotta cheese
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
3/4 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

1) In small skillet, sauté the mushrooms, onions, and 1/4 teaspoon salt in oil until tender. Set aside.

2) In small bowl, combine the pumpkin, cream, sage, pepper, and 1/4 teaspoon salt.

3) S[read 1/2 cup pumpkin sauce in an 11 x 7 baking dish coated with cooking spray. Top with three noodles. Noodles will overlap slightly.

4) Spread 1/2 cup of pumpkin sauce to edges of noodles. Top with half of mushroom mixture, 1/2 cup ricotta, 1/2 cup mozzarella, and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. Repeat layers. Top with remaining noodles and sauce.

5) Cover and bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Uncover, sprinkle with remaining Parmesan cheese. Bake 10-15 minutes until cheese is melted. Let lasagna stand 10 minutes before cutting.

**Recipe adapted from the Taste of Home version.**

It sounds very strange to have lasagna in a pasta. At least it did to me, as I had only ever had pumpkin in desserts. But this lasagna was delicious.

A bonus is that if you know you’re going to have a busy week, you can assemble the lasagna on Sunday and keep it in the fridge for later in the week.

Leave a Reply

