Southwestern Egg Rolls

Before I get into the egg roll recipe, I have to talk about the worst dinner I have ever made in my life.

Eggplant Parmesan. I am sure it was all me, I’m sure I overcooked the eggplant (I have no idea how to cook it, or how to tell when it’s done), seasoned it incorrectly, or did any number of other things to make it turn out the way it did. It. Was. Terrible. My husband wouldn’t even eat it, and he is the least picky person I have ever met in my life. My husband, who loves White Castle burgers (I know, I know) would not eat my eggplant parm. So, if anyone has ANY idea how to cook eggplant in a less horrible way, please share the secret with me. 🙂

Now, onto the egg rolls.

I used this recipe from Annie’s Eats (her blog is amazing and one of my favorites right now) and just changed a couple things. I’ll write the recipe with the changes I made, you can click that link to find the original.

Baked Southwestern Egg Rolls

Ingredients:
3 cups frozen corn, thawed
1 (10 oz.) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
2 cups shredded Mexican cheese blend
1 (4 oz.) can diced green chiles, drained (I used jalapeños instead, to make it extra spicy)
4 green onions, chopped
1 tsp. ground cumin
½ tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. salt
½ tsp. pepper
¼ tsp. cayenne pepper
1 package phyllo dough (obviously you should use egg roll wrappers, but apparently my grocery store didn’t carry them, so I improvised)
2 Tablespoons melted butter

1) In a large bowl, combine everything except wrappers and mix well.

2) Fold one sheet of phyllo dough in half and turn so one of the corners is pointing toward you. Scoop ¼ cup of the filling into the center of the dough.

3) Fold the tip closest to you up over the filling, roll slightly, then take the remaining points and fold them in as well. Continue rolling completely. Repeat with the remaining wrappers and filling.

4) Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray. Place the egg rolls on the baking sheet seam side down and lightly brush with melted butter. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until lightly brown, turning halfway through baking.

*The original recipe called for only two cups of corn, and for a 15 oz can of black beans. I hate beans, so I left them out and just upped the amount of corn. Next time I’ll make them with the beans because Chad was pretty disappointed that I was leaving them out.**

Over all, this was a pretty easy, delicious recipe. My egg roll wrapping skills leave something to be desired, but I’m sure I’ll be making this again, so I’ll have time to practice. 🙂

This was also my first experience with phyllo dough, and luckily it went pretty well. Hopefully next time I’ll be able to find actual egg roll wrappers and I can stick to using the phyllo dough in desserts.

2 responses

  1. So glad you enjoyed these! Did you ask a store employee about the eggroll wrappers? I have found even the worst stocked stores usually carry them, but they always seem to be in a different place.

    And, I have an eggplant parm recipe on my blog that is fabulous! Maybe give that a try.

    • I asked two people who worked in the store where they would be. The first one had no idea what I was even talking about (in his defense he was like, 12) so I asked someone else and she took me to like, four different places in the store where they “could be” and we never found them. At that point I was just done. lol

      I will definitely check out your eggplant parm! I was so disappointed in the last recipe, so hopefully I don’t mess yours up!

Leave a Reply

