Greek Flavored Spinach and Orzo Soup

I have been a bad blogger. I am about three entries behind. Luckily the Butler game took over my regular Monday night t.v. station, so I have time to get these recipes up (and no excuse not to).

You know how I feel about soup. I’ve gone on and on about how much I love cooking it, eating it, leftovers, etc. So when I found this recipe on a website under “spring soups” I knew I had to try it immediately. It has been very spring-like lately and I wanted to celebrate.

I have no idea what about this recipe makes it Greek (I know less than nothing about Greek cuisine) but it was delicious. Light and still filling, easy to make. And it is the first recipe I ever made that called for leeks, which I now know I love.

I adapted the recipe from this website.

Greek Flavored Spinach and Orzo Soup

6-8 servings
166 calories/serving (if you have it in a regular bowl)

Ingredients

1 1/2 tablespoons light olive oil
1 cup leek, chopped
1 large red bell pepper, diced
2 to 3 cloves garlic, minced (I used three)
3/4 cup orzo pasta
4 cups vegetable stock
One 16-ounce can Italian-flavored stewed tomatoes, undrained
5 to 6 ounces fresh spinach, washed and chopped
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
Juice of 1 lemon
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

1) Heat the olive oil in a soup pot. Add the leek and cook until translucent. Add the red pepper and garlic and saute entire mixture until leek turns golden and pepper softens (about ten minutes).

2) Add vegetable stock and the liquid from the tomatoes. Chop the tomatoes before adding them to the pot. (The original recipe says to chop finely, I just did a rough chop.) Bring to a boil, then reduce heat. Simmer, covered, for 10-15 minutes.

3) While completing steps 1 and 2, cook orzo in seperate pot of water until al dente. Drain and add cooked orzo to soup, along with the spinach and parsley, once step 2 has been completed.

4) Stir in lemon juice and one or two cups of water until soup reaches desired consistancy. Cook over low until heated through. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve.

As you can see from the picture, Chad had his in a bread bowl. I can’t eat that much bread, so I had my soup in a regular bowl and just had a piece of bread on the side.

This soup was amazing (and even better as leftovers!) and I loved it. It is the perfect spring soup.

Leave a Reply

