Red Velvet Cake Balls

We had Easter at my grandma and grandpa’s house this past weekend. When I asked Grandma if she wanted me to bring anything she said no, which, to me, translates to “Bring whatever dessert you’ve been dying to try”. It’s a win-win situation, I get to make a dessert, it doesn’t stay in the house so I don’t eat it all, and I have an honest audience in my family to tell me if it’s awful.

I got this recipe from a friend who made these for a party. I have no idea who the original creator of this recipe is, but if they happen to stumble upon this blog they can let me know so I can credit them.

Red Velvet Cake Balls

Ingredients:

1 box cake mix (any flavor)
-whatever amount of oil/water/eggs the box mix calls for
1 container of frosting (any flavor)
two packages chocolate chips (or you can use the colored candy melts they have at craft stores or baking supply stores)

1) Bake cake as directed on the box. Of course you can always bake your cake from scratch, but I went the boxed route this time.

2) Let cake cool completely.

3) Crumble cake finely into large bowl. Add 3/4-whole container of frosting and mix well.

4) Place mixture in freezer to firm up for 30 minutes.

5) Roll mixture into ball shapes, placing on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Place in freezer.

6) Melt chocolate over double boiler. Take one cookie sheet out of the freezer at a time and coat cake balls in melted chocolate. Tap off excess chocolate on each piece before placing back onto cookie sheet. If the pieces get too soft, return cookie sheet to freezer to allow them to firm up again.

7) When finished, place cookie sheets in fridge (or freezer) until chocolate is completely set. Store in fridge until you are ready to serve.

Easy, messy to make, and SO good. Exactly how I like my desserts.

I coated some of my cake balls in semi-sweet chocolate and some in dark. Next time I want to try some of the candy melts so they will be fun colors.

You can use any flavor cake/icing combination and any chocolate/candy coating that you want to. Let me know if you come up with any particularly yummy combinations!


Leave a Reply

