Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto

I found this recipe, and realizing that I had never made a pesto sauce before, I decided to make this one.

Chad helped, of course. I always like it when he helps me make dinner, not just because he is more useful in the kitchen than I am, but because I like spending that time together.

The original recipe for this was found in Cooking Light. The only thing I changed is that I used dried pasta, a whole wheat version.

Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto

Serves 4
240 calories/serving

Ingredients:

9 ounces whole wheat linguine
3/4  cup  oil-packed sun-dried tomato halves, drained
1/4  cup  loosely packed basil leaves
2  tablespoons  slivered almonds
2  tablespoons fresh Parmesan cheese
1  tablespoon minced garlic
1/2  teaspoon  salt
1/4  teaspoon  black pepper
1/2  cup  (2 ounces) crumbled feta cheese

1) Cook pasta as directed on package. Reserve one cup of pasta water for pesto mixture.

2) While pasta cooks, place sun-dried tomatoes, basil, almonds, parmesan cheese, garlic, salt, and pepper into a food processor. Process until finely chopped.

3) Combine tomato mixture and reserved pasta water and whisk together.

4) Toss with pasta, coat evenly. Sprinkle with crumbled feta cheese.

Chad really liked this dish. He had it as written, with the feta crumbled over the top, while I sprinkled a little bit of parmesan on mine. I love feta cheese, but generally only on pizza. Chad said the feta made the dish even better, though, so if you decide to make it, feel free to weigh in and tell me which one of us was right. 🙂

What I liked best about this dish is that it was pasta without feeling so heavy. It also didn’t take very long to make, which is always a bonus.

Leave a Reply

