Brown Rice Veggie Wraps

I have a tendency to “eat with my eyes”, as my husband puts it. I had never heard that expression before, but apparently it just means I decide if I’m going to like something before I even taste it. I fully admit I did that with this recipe. I honestly thought, while I was cooking it, that it was going to be terrible. Mostly because I don’t really like beans, which can be a problem if you’re a vegetarian.

But then, dinner was ready. And I was pleasantly surprised. These wraps are actually really delicious.

Brown Rice Veggie Wraps

Serves 6
371 calories/serving

Ingredients:

1 medium sweet red or green pepper, diced
1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cups cooked brown rice
1 can (16 ounces) kidney beans, rinsed and drained (I halved this)
1/4 cup chopped green onions
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 flour tortillas (8 inches), room temperature (I used whole wheat)
1/2 cup shredded reduced-fat cheddar cheese
3/4 cup salsa

1) In a large nonstick skillet,over medium heat, saute the pepper, mushrooms, and garlic in oil until tender (about 8 minutes).

2) Add the cooked rice, beans, green onions, cumin, pepper and salt. Cook and stir for 4-6 minutes or until heated through.

3) Spoon 3/4 cup onto each tortilla. Sprinkle with cheese and drizzle with salsa. Fold sides of tortillas over, serve immediately.

This is an adaptation of the Taste of Home recipe.

Chad loved this recipe, so we actually agreed on this one. That definitely doesn’t happen all the time. 🙂

The wraps took about half an hour to make, so it wasn’t too time consuming. I did halve the beans (because I hate them) and used whole wheat tortillas because that is what we had in the house.  One wrap was incredibly filling so I just had some fruit on the side, and now we have leftovers for lunch tomorrow! Perfection.

Leave a Reply

