Kiwi, Mushroom, and Tomato Salad

I’m sitting here watching the Academy of Country Music awards. Miranda Lambert just performed “The House That Built Me” which is my current favorite song. It’s a beautiful song, you should look it up on YouTube.

Now on to our regularly scheduled blogging. šŸ™‚

I am becoming rapidly used to the fact that our grocery store sometimes does not have the most basic of things. This time I needed watercress and, of course, they didn’t have it. I have never in my life used watercress, so maybe it isn’t a common ingredient, maybe it’s out of season, maybe…I have no idea. So I subbed in some other greens for this salad.

Kiwi, Mushroom, and Tomato Salad

Serves 4
64 calories/serving

Ingredients:

4 ounces watercress sprigs
2 kiwi fruit
4 ounces mushrooms, thinly sliced
8 ounces tomatoes, sliced
1 teaspoon red wine vinegar
salt and black pepper
4 teaspoons olive oil

1) Arrange bed of watercress in a bowl, then scatter kiwi, mushrooms, and tomatoes on top.

2) In small bowl, pour vinegar and season with salt and pepper to taste. Stir until salt is dissolved. Add the oil and whisk.

3) Just before serving pour dressing mixture over salad.

Chad really liked this meal. I liked the kiwi part of it and that was about it. I think part of my problem is that I cannot eat just salad for dinner. For lunch, sure. Pair it with something for dinner, okay. But just salad for dinner does not fill me up.

I also wasn’t a big fan of the dressing, but I didn’t think I would be. I don’t like vinegar or olive oil as a main component of anything.

This was an easy weeknight dinner though, and it came together in about 15 minutes, which was a bonus. Next time I’ll leave the dressing off mine and add some soup to the mix.

**This recipe was adapted from The Vegetarian Cookbook. I just got this cookbook a couple weeks ago and it is rapidly becoming my favorite.**

Leave a Reply

