Bruschetta

I know I promised a recipe for homemade spaghetti sauce, but I can’t deliver on that yet. Here is my very sage advice though: when halving a recipe…remember to halve the whole thing. Because if you are making, let’s say, a homemade spaghetti sauce, and you halve the amount of tomatoes that you are using, but then forget to halve the amount of spices…it does not end well. You can quote me on that. I will try again though, and once I get it right I will share the recipe with you.

Now, on to the Bruschetta!

This is technically an appetizer, but DH and I made it for dinner one night.

**Recipe adapted from Delish**

Bruschetta

Ingredients

1 loaf Italian bread (I used a garlic/parm French bread)
1 large clove garlic, cut in half and dice one half
3 0r 4 large tomatoes, seeded and diced
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
basil
teaspoon salt
ground black pepper
shredded Parmesan cheese (optional)

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut bread in 1/2 thick slices, arrange on baking sheet in a single layer, and toast for 15 minutes, turning bread halfway through cook time.

2) Transfer bread to wire racks. When bread is cool enough to handle, rub one side of each slice with 1/2 the garlic clove. Then you can discard that half of the garlic, reserve the second half for the tomato mixture.

3) In bowl, mix tomatoes, the diced half of the garlic clove, basil, oil, salt, and pepper. The basil, salt, and pepper don’t have defined quantities because those are customizable to your taste. Use as much (or as little) as you want. Toss until combined. Spoon mixture onto bread, sprinkle with shredded Parm, and serve!

**You can also essentially fry the bread, instead of baking. If you want to do that, use 1 Tablespoon olive oil and a Tablespoon butter. Cook over medium heat, placing slices of bread into the pan and frying until golden brown on both sides. If you go this route use a small clove of garlic for the tomato mixture, otherwise you’ll be left with half a clove of garlic that you don’t need, since this method negates the use of the cut half of garlic.**

This was really easy and fast to make and DH and I both loved it. I’m sure I’ll be making it again, hopefully with tomatoes from my grandpa’s garden. Home grown tomatoes are always better than store bought. 🙂


Leave a Reply

