Roasted Tomatoes with Garlic, Gorgonzola, and Herbs

I stole this recipe from Giada. I admit it, I love her. She is the only chef on Food Network that I get actual dinner recipes from (I’ve used Alton Brown’s cookie recipes before).

Don’t get me wrong, I love watching some of the other chefs, especially Paula Deen, I think she is hilarious to watch and I love southern accents. When we went to Savannah this past September I had to make sure I got a picture of her restaurant (although we didn’t eat there). But I have just never felt the urge to make any of her recipes, or the recipes of the other chefs on Food Network.

But this recipe from Giada…mmmmm….definitely delicious.

Roasted Tomatoes with Garlic, Gorgonzola, and Herbs

Ingredients

12 Roma tomatoes, sliced in half
1/4 cup olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
3/4 cup plain breadcrumbs
3/4 cup Gorgonzola cheese, finely crumbled
2 Tablespoons chopped fresh flat leaf parsley

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2) Using a teaspoon or grapefruit spoon, remove the seeds from the tomatoes. Place the tomato halves, cut side down, on paper towels to drain. This takes approximately five to ten minutes.

3) In a large bowl, mix together 2 tablespoons of the olive oil, garlic, salt, and pepper. Toss the drained tomato halves in the oil mixture until coated. Let sit (to marinate) for about ten minutes.

4) In a small bowl mix together the bread crumbs and Gorgonzola cheese.

5) Place tomato halves, cut side up, on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Fill each tomato half with the bread crumb filling. Drizzle with the remaining olive oil. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until slightly softened and the underside of the tomatoes are brown.

6) Sprinkle with parsley and serve.

**Gorgonzola is a type of blue cheese, so if you don’t like blue cheese you can sub in 3/4 cup of Parmesan cheese. But I love blue cheese, so I used the Gorgonzola.**

To make this a complete dinner instead of just an appetizer (which is how Giada served it on her television show) I just put the tomatoes on a little bed of whole wheat pasta. It was unnecessary, I ended up not even eating most of my pasta because the tomatoes were just so good by themselves.

You can easily halve or quarter the recipe (which we did) if there are only two or three of you.

This recipe was really good, but next time I will drain the tomatoes a little longer, and use just a little less of the breadcrumbs. All in all, it was a wonderful meal.


Leave a Reply

