Irish Soda Bread

Let me just say right up front that I have been informed that this is not “real” Irish soda bread. So if you’re Irish and reading this…you’ll have to forgive me. Whatever you want to call this bread, it’s pretty darn good.

I’ve never made bread before. And I suppose Irish soda bread is a really random recipe to start out with, but I did have a reason for choosing it.

The husband and I went out to dinner yesterday to celebrate my father-in-law’s birthday. We went to this Irish pub type place here in Evansville. It was a chain restaurant, but it was pretty good. I tried hummus for the first time, which was interesting. And then there was the bread. Irish soda bread. I will imagine, since it is a chain restaurant, they do not have little Irish grandmas in the back making the bread, so it probably wasn’t a true version either. But it was delicious.

My version was pretty good too, but I think I’ll keep hunting around for different versions of the recipe until I find one I absolutely  love.

Irish Soda Bread

**Link for the original recipe**

Ingredients

4 cups all-purpose flour
4 Tablespoons white sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup margarine, softened
1 cup buttermilk
1 egg

Plus:
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup buttermilk

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees and grease a baking sheet.

2) In large bowl mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and margarine. Stir in 1 cup buttermilk and egg. Mix until dough forms.

3) Place dough on lightly floured surface and knead for a few minutes.

4) Form dough into a round loaf and place on baking sheet.

5) Mix together 1/4 cup buttermilk and melted butter. Brush top of bread with mixture. Using a sharp knife, cut an X in the top of the bread.

6) Bake for 45-50 minutes, brushing with butter mixture every 15-20 minutes.

I have to say that this bread was REALLY good warm. And it made the house smell amazing, which honestly is part of the point of baking bread anyway.

I’ll keep you updated if I try any more adaptations of this bread. I did find one recipe that is supposed to be “real” traditional Irish soda bread. It only had four ingredients. I may try that one next. 🙂

Leave a Reply

