Homemade Salsa!

I know I’ve been really bad about updating lately, but that’s mostly because I’ve also been really bad about cooking. We’ve been eating way too much processed “food” but I’m trying to get back in the cooking habit. I started nursing school a few weeks ago, so I don’t have as much time, but I’m working on it.

Before I post the recipe I will give you a friendly tip: do not make this salsa. Seriously, don’t do it. It’s easy to make. It’s delicious. It makes a huge batch so you can save a lot of it. But don’t do it.

Why? Because if you make this salsa you will never be able to eat store bought salsa again.

This salsa is that amazing.

**I got the recipe from a friend, and I have no idea where she got it.**

Homemade Salsa

Ingredients

2 fresh jalapeño peppers, seeded, coarsely chopped
4 cloves garlic, halved
2 tomatoes
1 (28 0z.) can diced tomatoes, drained
1 Tbsp. cumin
1/2 onion (I used a Vidalia onion)
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground cayenne pepper
a handful of fresh, chopped cilantro
The juice of one lime

Place jalapeños, garlic, and half the diced tomatoes in a blender or food processor. Pulse until the jalapeños and garlic are finely chopped.

Add all other ingredients and pulse until salsa is the consistency you like.

It’s that easy!

I served this salsa with egg rolls last night and it was amazing!


Leave a Reply

