Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

I recently took the plunge and bought a Kitchen Aid Artisan stand mixer. Anyone who knows me knows this is a big deal because…well, I hate spending money. I can talk myself out of buying pretty much anything if I stay in a store long enough. Hence the reason I have been wanting a stand mixer for two years and just now got one.

I will say I got a good deal on it. I found it at one of the kitchen stores in the mall, and it was refurbished, so it was MUCH cheaper than a brand new one. Plus it still came with a warranty, so if anything happens I can get it replaced. Considering the fact that Kitchen Aid stand mixers tend to be known for their durability, I’m not too concerned.

What does this have to do with pizza crust? Well, the mixer comes with a dough hook attachment and I decided pizza crust was the perfect first recipe to try out.

Whole Wheat Pizza Crust


**I got this recipe from THIS blog. She has a TON of good recipes.**

Ingredients:

1 packet fast acting yeast
1 Tablespoon honey
3/4 cup warm water
1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 to 3/4 cup of all purpose (AP) flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1)  Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a stand mixer, using dough hook attachment, add the water, yeast, and honey. Stir to combine, then set aside for ten minutes.

2) Add whole wheat flour, salt, olive oil, and 1/2 cup AP flour. Turn on low and begin to mix. Add more AP flour as needed to prevent dough from being too sticky. (I ended up using the whole 3/4 cup and I still felt like it was a little sticky.)

3) Turn mixer up to medium and knead dough for five minutes. Then set dough aside to proof.

4) Once dough has doubled in size, roll out onto pizza pan and flatten into shape.

5) Top with whatever you desire and bake for 20-25 minutes until crust is crisp and cheese is bubbly.

I know I was going to make a separate blog entry for the crust, so I didn’t worry about choosing any crazy toppings. We just did basic toppings: tomato paste (it’s thicker than sauce and I prefer it), oregano and a little red pepper to season, cheese, banana peppers, etc. The blog I pulled this from had the instructions for the crust mixed in with the instructions for the toppings (which were more labor intensive than mine) and so I wanted to make sure I had this recipe in a separate entry so it’ll be a little easier to follow next time.

I was ridiculously worried about messing this crust up. It was my first time ever working with yeast, so that was my main concern. I watched the dough for the first few minutes, was a little paranoid that it didn’t seem to be doing anything, and made myself walk away. When I came back about 10-15 minutes later, it was perfect and ready to be rolled out.

I got distracted during cooking, so the cheese is a little browner than I like, but it wasn’t burnt and it was still good. I love oregano to flavor pizza sauce and the red pepper made it just a little spicy.

We’ll definitely be using this recipe again. It is so much better than any store bought crust. Next time I’ll focus more on toppings. There is a spinach and feta pizza recipe that I have been dying to make. I’ll share it when I get a chance.

One response

  1. Pingback: Spinach and Feta Pizza « How Do I Boil Water? Recipes and Stories from a Novice Cook

Leave a Reply

