Key Lime Pie Cupcakes…

…Plus Some Bonus Recipes!

I know, I’ve been a slacker recently. Really, anyone who reads this will just have to bear with me. I don’t have enough hours in my day. If anyone knows how to add another four or five, I would appreciate it.

This first recipe is a super easy recipe for some fun summer cupcakes. Then I have a couple main course recipes to share from Robyn’s bridal shower, but no pictures because I completely spaced and forgot to take any.

Key Lime Pie Cupcakes

Ingredients:

1 box white cake mix
*3 egg whites, vegetable oil, and water to make the mix
approx. 25 key limes
1 teaspoon key lime zest
16 oz condensed sweetened milk
2 cups cool whip

1) Mix cake batter. Add the juice from 3-4 key limes before putting batter in cupcake liners and baking as directed on box.

2) Zest key limes to get 1 teaspoon of zest. Put aside.

3) Juice approx. 20 limes, being sure to remove all seeds and fruit pulp. Juicing over a strainer helps with this.

4) Add the juice and zest to the condensed milk.

5) Fold in two cups of cool whip and refrigerate mixture until cupcakes have baked and cooled.

6) Once cupcakes have cooled, put a decorating tip on a bag , put the tip into the top of the cupcake, and put the filling in that way. You can also do the cone method, where you cut a hole out of the top of the cupcake, hollow out a little bit, fill, then place the top back on the cupcake. The way I did it is easier, but I think you get more filling in each cupcake with the cone method.

7) Use remaining filling as the frosting, and as a finishing touch, sprinkle the tops of cupcakes with crushed graham crackers.

**I adapted this filling recipe after getting it from a friend, I have no idea where the original came from.**

The decorations I used on the cupcakes were made with Wilton candy Summer Fun mold and candy melts.

Now the recipes with the missing pictures…sorry about that.

I made the above cupcakes for Robyn’s bridal shower and I also made two of the main dishes, chicken kabobs and Kalua pork. It’s very strange, being someone who doesn’t eat meat and buying several pound of pork and chicken cooking it. I didn’t taste the final products, but I got a lot of compliments, so I think it all turned out okay.

Chicken Pineapple Kabobs

Ingredients:

4 chicken breasts
fresh pineapple chunks
1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
3 Tablespoons pineapple juice
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
3 cloves garlic cloves
Kabob skewers

**If you buy wooden skewers, soak them in water the night before. This prevents the ends from charring while grilling.**

To marinate the chicken:

1) Place pineapple juice, vegetable oil, red pepper, garlic, and chicken breast into heavy duty freezer bag. Place in fridge for 8 hours, turning occasionally.

To cook:

1) Cut chicken into cubed pieces. Place two pieces of chicken into a skewer, followed by one piece of pineapple. Repeat until skewer is “full”, with the end of the skewers still showing.

2) Grill over medium high heat on a grill until the chicken is cooked through.

3) Enjoy! I heard the chicken was really good, which I attribute to the marinade. It almost made me wish I ate meat again… 🙂

This recipe will feed about four people. Obviously I had to make a lot more than that, so I just increased the recipe.

Kalua Pork

Ingredients

4-5 pound pork butt
2½ tablespoons Hawaiian salt (substitute kosher salt)
2 tablespoons liquid smoke
1 banana leaf (substitute 4-5 whole, unpeeled bananas)
4-6 ti leaves (substitute aluminum foil)

Trim any excess fat from the roast. Make several shallow long cuts along the roast. Rub with salt and liquid smoke. Wrap the roast with banana leaf or in the absence of same, place whole bananas on top of meat .

Wrap roast in aluminum foil and place in baking dish

Roast in a 350 degree oven for about 45 minutes per pound. When meat is done, remove aluminum foil and bananas, and shred pork.

I expected this to be like a barbecued pulled pork. which it was not. Obviously there is a distinct lack of barbecue sauce, which should have been my first clue. The meat seemed tender and juicy though, and people said they liked it. Of course, they could have just been humoring me. 🙂

Over all, Robyn’s bridal shower was a lot of fun and I am so happy that I got to be a part of it. Can’t wait until the wedding!

Leave a Reply

