Asparagus!

One of the good things about not eating meat is that it forces you to try new foods. Since I stopped eating meat I’ve tried hummus, lentils, and all kinds of “new” (to me) veggies.

I decided to try an easy asparagus recipe. It’s almost a lie to call it a “recipe” since it’s basically just seasoning to taste and cooking. But here goes:

Roasted Asparagus

Ingredients:

One bundle of asparagus
Olive oil
salt
pepper
garlic powder
red pepper flakes

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2) Cut off bottom of asparagus stalks and throw them away. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil and place asparagus on sheet.

3) Drizzle with olive oil, just enough to lightly coat asparagus. Toss to evenly coat. Sprinkle with desired amount of salt, pepper, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes.

4) Roast in oven for 15-20 minutes, stirring once during cook time.

I pretty much just decided to wing it with this recipe. I just took a recommended simple recipe (olive oil, salt and pepper) and added the garlic and red pepper to make it a little more interesting.

Chad really like this. I thought it was okay. I’ve also tried grilled asparagus and I think I’m just not a big fan of the vegetable in general. Maybe it’ll grow on me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

