Birthday Meatloaf…

That’s right, I said it: Birthday Meatloaf. I am sneaking a meat recipe into this blog, mostly because my husband’s birthday was about a week ago and he requested “meatloaf like his mom used to make”. Now, honestly, every wife groans inwardly when her husband requests something his mom used to make, just because we KNOW that no matter what we do the recipe will not stand up to the memory of his mom’s amazing meatloaf/lasagna/whatever. Add to that the fact that I haven’t cooked with meat in ages and I was scared. But it was his birthday so I decided to give it a go. I took his momma’s basic recipe and added a few things and prayed it wasn’t a disaster.

Thanks to my mother-in-law who e-mailed me this recipe! (I forgot to get a picture, but maybe next year!)

Birthday Meatloaf

Ingredients:

2 lbs gr beef
2 Tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
14.5 tomato sauce
14.5 can of diced tomatoes
1 lg onion, diced
1 lg clove garlic, finely diced
2 lg eggs, beat before adding
1 cup of old fashioned oats, add more if needed for the right consistency.
Ketchup

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In large bowl, mix all ingredients. Just use your hands, don’t try to fight it. Yes, it’s gross, but it’s the only way.

2) Place mixture into loaf pan. (I have a small loaf pan, and this recipe actually made two loaves, just an FYI…for just two people you can probably halve the recipe.)

3) Cover top of meatloaf with topping of your choice (ketchup, BBQ, etc). I used a mixture of ketchup and Worcestershire.

Bake for approximately an hour, or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean. I used the knife method, but I also used a meat thermometer to check the temp. just to be safe.

While I’m sure my meatloaf wasn’t as good as his mom’s, Chad did love it. And what more can a wife hope for on her husband’s birthday?


Leave a Reply

