Baked Pita Chips

I know, I know…I am a slacker. I don’t mean to be. I get focused on work and school and the husband and suddenly I am four entries behind in this thing and dreading that I have to take the time to catch up.

But that’s what Sundays are for! So here goes.

I adapted this recipe for baked pita chips from Giada. You can find her version here.

Baked Pita Chips

Ingredients:

3 whole wheat pitas
1 Tablespoon olive oil
sea salt
pepper
oregano
Cayenne pepper
Parmesan cheese

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2) Cut pitas in half, then cut each half into 8 pieces. In large bowl place pita pieces and drizzle with olive oil. Toss to coat evenly. Add salt, pepper, oregano, and cayenne pepper. (I use about a teaspoon of each, you can use however much your heart and taste buds desire.) Toss again.

3) Place pita pieces on two large cookie sheets in a single layer. Sprinkle pieces with Parmesan cheese. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown and crispy.

I served these with a simple salad. Nothing special, just lettuce, carrots, broccoli, onion, feta cheese, Italian dressing. Very good and very simple.

This recipe is perfect for leftover pitas, which I always seem to have. I can never finish a package in time, and this is a great alternative to just tossing the last couple pitas.

Leave a Reply

