Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

There are some people who have recipe blogs who could do it professionally (and some do!). Their pictures are always gorgeous, the stories are funny, and the recipes are delicious. I borrowed this recipe from one of those blogs. You can find it here.

As for me, well, I just like having all my recipes in one place. And if a few friends try some recipes and tell me how they like them, that is even better. So, if you only try one recipe in my blog, this should be it.

I thought I was setting myself up for disaster by deciding to make a pumpkin dessert. Apparently there is some kind of pumpkin shortage this year and canned pumpkin is in short supply. After going to a couple different stores I was tipped off by someone who works at Schnuck’s that I might be able to find pumpkin at Rural King of all places. I was skeptical. But then Chad and I decided to stop by and see if they had any and, miracle of miracles, they did! (They also had Dr. Pepper throwback, which is made with real sugar instead of HFCS, so I officially love Rural King.)

Chad had to stop me from buying every can in the store, and in the end I walked out with only six cans. I used two of those cans to make these:

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Ingredients

For the cookies:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
2 tbsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. ground ginger
½ tsp. ground nutmeg
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup dark brown sugar, firmly packed
1 cup canola oil
3 cups chilled pumpkin puree
2 large eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract

For the filling:
3 cups powdered sugar
½ cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
8 oz. cream cheese, at room temperature
3 Tbsp. maple syrup
1 tsp. vanilla extract

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Line two baking sheets with parchment paper. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and spices.  Set aside.

3) In a large bowl whisk together the sugars and oil. Add pumpkin puree and whisk to combine. Add eggs and vanilla and, again, whisk to combine. Stir flour mixture in gradually, stirring until completely incorporated.

4) Place tablespoons of the cookie mixture about 1 inch apart on cookie sheets. Bake 10-12 minutes until the top of the cookie start to crack slightly and a toothpick inserted into the center of the cookie comes out clean. Remove from oven and allow to cool for 5-10 minutes on cookie sheets. Transfer to cooling racks to cool completely. Repeat with any remaining cookie mixture.

5) To make the filling, place butter in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Beat butter until smooth. Add the cream cheese and beat until combined.  Add the powdered sugar, maple syrup and vanilla and beat until smooth.

6) To assemble, simply turn one cookie over, pipe on the filling, and place another cookie on top.

I made these little cookies using the filling recipe and Chad made them again for his family reunion, but he used  ready made cream cheese frosting. They were amazing both ways. Obviously there is always going to be something a little special about homemade filling, but don’t feel bad if you have to fudge it and buy premade.

The cookie are also delicious by themselves and I think for Thanksgiving I’m going to experiment with some kind of glaze topping for just the cookies.

These are definitely a must bake for the autumn season!

Leave a Reply

