Tortilla Soup

I love autumn. I love the smells (pumpkin spice, harvest), I love the decor (fall leaves and pumpkins), I love going to the pumpkin patch and finding our jack-o-lantern pumpkin, I love Halloween, I love Thanksgiving. Basically I am all about everything autumn related. And to me, autumn just isn’t the same without some good soup recipes!

This is just a simple soup that I got from my “Easy Everyday Vegetarian” cookbook. Something fast that you can whip up on a cool autumn evening. We haven’t had too many of those yet, but I have faith that they are quickly approaching.

Tortilla Soup

Makes 4 servings
110 calories/serving

Ingredients

3 teaspoons vegetable oil
4 corn tortillas (we subbed in baked taco shells…it was easier and we had some shells on hand)
1 medium onion, chopped
2 (14 oz) cans of veggie broth
1 (10 oz) can chopped tomatoes and green chilies, undrained
1 Tablespoon lime juice
1 Tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro or parsley

1) In 2 quart non-stick sauce pan, heat 2 teaspoons of oil over medium heat. Cut corn tortillas into strips and fry in pan until crisp. Remove from saucepan and place on paper towels to drain.

2) In same saucepan, cook remaining 1 teaspoon of oil and the onion over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally until onion is tender. (I added one clove of garlic, chopped, in at this step and cooked it with the onion.)

3) Stir in broth and tomatoes. (I also added 1 Tablespoon chili powder at this step, just for some extra kick.) Heat to boiling, then reduce heat to low and simmer, uncovered, for 20 minutes.

4) Stir in lime jiuce. Serve soup over tortilla strips and garnish with cilantro or parsley.

This soup was spicy, at least according to me. Chad has a higher tolerance for spicy food, so he probably would not agree. We did both agree that the soup was really good and definitely one of our new favorites. It was almost like a play on a tomato soup, and I pretty much love any and all tomato based soups.

There will definitely be more of this soup in my future.

Leave a Reply

