Super Easy Tomato Sauce

As soon as I found this recipe, I knew I had to try it. The last time I tried to make tomato sauce (a different recipe) it ended horribly because I tried to halve the recipe but forgot to halve some of the seasonings. Oops.

This recipe seemed easier and more interesting, mostly because I had never seen a recipe that uses lemon zest in tomato sauce.

Super Easy Tomato Sauce



Ingredients

1/4 cup EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)
1 1/2 teaspoons crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
2-3 medium cloves of garlic, finely chopped
1 28-ounce can crushed red tomatoes
zest of one lemon

1) Bring water for pasta to boil. Add pasta and cook as directed.  (I use whole wheat pasta.)

2) Combine the olive oil, red pepper flakes, sea salt, and garlic in a cold saucepan. Stir while you heat the saucepan over medium-high heat. Heat until garlic becomes fragrant, but do not allow garlic to brown.

3) Add tomatoes and bring mixture to a simmer. Let simmer for a few minutes, then remove from heat and add lemon zest, reserving a little if you want to sprinkle some on top of your pasta.

Honestly, while this sauce was easy, I didn’t love it. It’s not the recipes fault, I just don’t love the lemon in my sauce. Next time I’ll leave it out and throw in some more herbs/spices.

I did really love the bite from the red pepper though, so I might add just a LITTLE more of that next time.

Either way, check out the original recipe, which I linked above, and look through that blog. The blogger is a genius and her recipes all look amazing!


Leave a Reply

