Caramel Apple Spice Cupcakes

So…don’t get too excited. This is a fake recipe. I doctored a boxed cake mix and used store bought frosting. I know, I know, shame on me. In my defense, I was making this for a baby shower and I was also making the rest of the menu, so sometimes you have to cut corners somewhere. They were still delicious.

 

Caramel Apple Spice Cupcakes

Ingredients

1 box spice cake mix (and whatever the mix calls for in terms of eggs/oil/etc)
2 granny smith apples, finely diced
apple juice
caramel icing

1) Prepare mix as stated on box, but sub in apple juice for the amount of water that the recipe calls for.

2) Add diced apples and mix just until incorporated.

3) Spoon into cupcake liners and bake as directed on box.

4) Let cool, then frost.

 

Yeah, these were good for a boxed mix and I even had people ask for the recipe. I was just disappointed because I had this amazing homemade caramel icing recipe that I had gotten from an online friend that I really wanted to use. In the end I didn’t have time, hence the store bought icing.

I also wasn’t a big fan of the spice cake as a base. To me, caramel apples do not equal spice. Next time I’m going to use a white mix of some kind as a base, still add the apple juice and the diced apples and make the homemade icing. I will definitely make another post for that.

I do have a few other things to post in the upcoming week. I have an easy stromboli recipe that I’m going to share and a recipe for garlic rolls that I’m going to make tomorrow.

I’ve fallen a little behind, it’s almost the end of the quarter so I have a million things to do for school. Not a great excuse, but the only one I have. 🙂

4 responses

  1. 😦 Why is there an option for an RSS feed for your housebuilding blog, but not an option for this one? I’m always needing new recipes. I’d be happy to share tasty recipes with you, but most of mine are not vegetarian friendly. I can offer you a kick-ass mac ‘n’ cheese recipe, but not much else. I suppose I do have some tasty dessert recipes up my sleeve as well. 😀

  2. 2 c. milk
    2 c. raw macaroni
    1 c. velveeta (can lower the amount of this if you replace with some cheddar)
    1 c. shredded cheddar
    4 T. butter
    3 T. flour
    1/2 t. salt
    1/8 t. pepper
    1 T. dry onion flakes

    TOPPING:
    1/4 c. shredded cheddar
    1/2 c. bread crumbs
    1 T. butter

    Preheat oven to 350.  Cook macaroni noodles to an al dente state (or all the way, doesnt matter).  While doing that, in large saucepan melt butter over medium heat.  Add flour, salt, pepper, and onion and stir (cook for a minute or so but don’t burn!).  Add milk and bring to a boil, stirring constantly.  Once sauce has started boiling and has thickened a little, turn off the heat.  Add the cheese and stir until the cheese is melted.  Combine the sauce with macaroni and mix thoroughly and put into a casserole dish. (I think I use a 1.5 or 2 qt dish.) 

    TOPPING In small saucepan, melt butter, then turn off the heat.  Mix in bread crumbs and then the cheese.  Top the macaroni with the mixture.  Bake for 30 min or until bubbly.  YUM!

Leave a Reply

