Pasta with Blue Cheese Tomato Sauce and Spinach

I wish I could fully explain to you how amazing this recipe is. I mean, honestly, this is the best new recipe that I’ve cooked in ages. Although that has nothing to do with my cooking ability and everything to do with the fact that the originator of this recipe is, in fact, a genius.

Blue cheese. Pasta. Creamy tomato sauce. Spinach. Oh my God, I am drooling thinking about it.

And look, I get it. Not everyone likes blue cheese. Make this anyway. I’m not kidding. Sub in some different stinky cheese if you must, but I adore blue cheese so this recipe was perfect for me.

HERE is the original. Have you ever perused the Pioneer Woman’s blog? Ree Drummond is her name. Her blog is kind of amazing. Anyone who might happen to be reading this who buys me Christmas presents: I would love a copy of her cookbook. 🙂

Pasta with Blue Cheese Tomato Sauce and Spinach

Ingredients

1/2 pound Angel Hair Pasta
2 Tablespoons olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 whole 28-ounce can diced tomatoes, drained
a dash of sugar
salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
crushed red pepper flakes, to taste
3/4 cup crumbled blue cheese
3/4 cup heavy cream
4 cups baby spinach
half-and-half, for thinning
extra blue cheese crumbles, for garnish

1) Cook pasta according to package instructions.

2) In a large skillet heat olive oil over medium heat. Add minced garlic and cook until golden, about a minute. Pour in tomatoes. Add sugar, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper to taste. Start off slow, you can always add more. Cook for 10 to 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3) Reduce heat to low and stir in blue cheese. Cook, stirring frequently, until cheese is melted.

4) Add cream and stir to combine. Cook for a minute or two to heat through, taste and add more seasonings if needed. If too thick, add a splash of half-and-half.

5) Right before serving add spinach and toss, allowing spinach to wilt slightly. Toss in noodles and serve!

This recipe makes enough for about six servings. Obviously the husband and I can’t eat six servings of pasta by ourselves in one sitting. I went ahead and followed the directions for the sauce and once it was done I split it into separate portions. Then I only added spinach to the portion we were eating that night. I made just enough pasta for each of us. When I wanted the leftovers the next day I heated up some of the sauce, added spinach and made just enough noodles again. Repeat until leftovers are gone. It tastes much better that way than if you add all the spinach and then try to reheat the sauce with the spinach already in it.

I seriously love this pasta. I don’t even care that there is cream and cheese in it and it probably has a million calories. I ignore that and just enjoy the deliciousness that is blue cheese in tomato sauce with that little kick from the red pepper. I’m actually getting ready to finish off the last of the leftovers for dinner. Be jealous. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

