Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

Christmas is almost here!

I don’t know why I’m telling y’all that like you don’t already know. Maybe it’s because I am ridiculously excited for Christmas this year. Maybe it’s because I’ve been in my own little holiday baking bubble for the past two days. Maybe it’s because I’ve only been listening to Christmas music (the Glee Christmas CD is awesome, btw) and watching movies like A Muppet Christmas Carol, Love Actually, Rudolph, Charlie Brown Christmas, and Santa Claus is Coming to Town. Whatever the reason, I am definitely rocking the holiday spirit this year, which is a nice change from some of the more stressful holidays of the past.

Last year I did two big posts with all my holiday baking split into either cookies or candy. That was fine, but this year I plan on separating every recipe into different posts so no one (probably me) has to wade through four recipes to find the one they need.

I decided to make something gingerbread for my first Christmas baking endeavor. I’ve never baked the traditional gingerbread cutout cookies, but I do love the taste of gingerbread. It’s always fascinated me that you can take things like cloves, ginger, and molasses, which are all pretty gross on their own, and mix them together to form amazing and yummy gingerbread.

I’m also a big fan of Whoopie Pies (really, who isn’t?) so I knew I had to try these:

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

Ingredients:

For the Cookies:

3 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened (1 1/2 sticks)
3/4 cup lightly packed brown sugar
1 egg
3/4 cup molasses
3/4 cup buttermilk

For the Filling:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1 (7-ounce) jar marshmallow fluff
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

 

To bake the Cookies:

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

2) In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, and spices.

3) In the bowl of a stand mixer, using the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar at medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add the egg and mix well. Scrape down sides of bowl as needed.

4) With the mixer on low speed, mix in half the dry ingredients. Mix for 30 seconds-1 minute.

5) Add the molasses, mix for about 20-30 seconds, then the add the other half of the dry ingredients. Mix until all the ingredients are well combined.

6) Last, add the buttermilk, mixing until just incorporated.

7) You can use a pastry bag to pipe the cookies, but I just used a Tablespoon. I placed one Tablespoon of dough for each cookie, spacing them about an inch apart. Bake cookies for 9-12 minutes, rotating the cookie sheets halfway through. The cookies are done when they spring back after being lightly pressed with your finger.

8) Allow cookies to cool for a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  Repeat the steps until you run out of dough!

 

To make the Filling:

1) Using your stand mixer, fitted with a paddle attachment, cream the butter and powdered sugar at medium-high speed. It should take 2-3 minutes to fully combine. Scrape the sides of the bowl as needed.

2) Add marshmallow fluff, vanilla, and salt. Mix on medium speed until fully combined.

3) Match up cookies that are approximately the same size and fill with about 1 Tablespoon of icing.

You can find the original cookie recipe HERE.
And the original filling recipe is HERE.

I admit, I didn’t use all the butter the filling recipe called for. It just seemed like a LOT to me, so I left a few tablespoons out. It still worked.

These were so delicious, although they were a pain to make. The dough is pretty thick and at one point I thought I was killing my stand mixer. But she survived. (Yes, my stand mixer is a “she”. No, I don’t know why.)

So make these. Seriously. And ship some to me if you don’t mind. I bet they’re even more delicious if you aren’t the one in the kitchen making them. 🙂

 

One response

Leave a Reply

