Black Bean Nachos

One of my favorite appetizers to order when we go out to eat happens to be nachos. Don’t misunderstand me, nothing will ever replace my undying love for a good plate of cheese fries, but nachos are a close second. Luckily we don’t eat out that much, so both of the aforementioned dishes are rare treats.

This week I decided that I really wanted to make the homemade salsa recipe that I posted here. Then I started thinking about nachos and how long it’s been since I had some. In the end I decided to try to recreate some of my favorite restaurant nachos by throwing some things on baked tortilla chips and winging it. So here goes:

Black Bean Nachos

Ingredients

1 package corn tortillas (the smallest tortillas you can find)
1/2 can of black beans, drained, but save a tablespoon or so of the liquid
taco cheese
jalapeños
salsa/light sour cream

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Cut 5 of the tortillas in half. Place on a cookie sheet.

2) Bake tortilla slices for approximately 10 minutes, until crispy and golden.

3) While tortillas are baking, puree the black beans. If mixture is too chunky, add some of the saved liquid and puree some more. In the end the puree should still be thick, but not chunky.

4) Spread bean puree on baked corn chips. Sprinkle with cheese. Top with jalapeños.

5) Bake for 8-10 minutes or until cheese has melted.

Serve with salsa and light sour cream.

 

Of course I am biased since I already said I love nachos, but I thought these were great. Maybe even better than restaurant nachos. 🙂

If you make these, definitely spend the extra time (it’s only like, 15 minutes, I swear!) to make the salsa from scratch. You won’t be sorry.

Updated April 2011: We’ve started adding seasoning into the bean mixture when we make these. Garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, chili powder, and paprika to taste. It just makes these nachos even better!


Leave a Reply

