Tortellini and Spinach Soup

Tortellini soup, take two.

I do have another recipe that I posted maybe a year or so ago for tortellini soup, but that one was more broth based. And had nutmeg in it, which was strange. I liked that recipe, but considering I haven’t made it again since that first time, it clearly was not a favorite.

Then I found this version of a tortellini soup and figured it wouldn’t hurt to try it out.

Tortellini and Spinach Soup

Ingredients

1 Tablespoon olive oil
1//2 small onion, diced
1 clove of garlic, minced
4 cups veggie broth
1 (14 oz) can whole tomatoes
1 (9 oz) package fresh tortellini
sea salt and black pepper to taste
10 oz spinach
1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese

1) In a 3 quart soup pot, heat olive oil over medium high heat. Cook the onion and garlic until the onion is translucent.

2) Add broth and tomatoes, crushing the tomatoes through your fingers into the soup pot to break them up. Turn heat to high and bring to a boil.

3) Add tortellini and cook according to package instructions. When tortellini is almost done, add spinach. Add salt and pepper to taste.

4) Sprinkle with Parmesan and serve!

Adapted from THIS Food Network recipe.

 

I used a whole wheat pasta that I found in the refrigerator section. You can also use dried pasta, four servings worth.

I did like this soup, but to be completely honest, I prefer my tortellini drowning in thick, hearty tomato sauce. With garlic bread on the side. Yum!

Regardless, this was an easy recipe. I’ll keep it around in case I need an easy, cold weather meal in the future.


Leave a Reply

