Tortilla Pizza

Sometimes a good, easy lunch is born out of a necessity to use up some leftovers. I hate throwing out leftovers. Recently I’ve noticed that I can never seem to use an entire package of spinach and it drives me crazy. One of my cooking goals for the week is to throw spinach into everything I can just to use it up.

Anyway, spinach is not the only leftover food we had hanging out in the fridge. In this case we also had leftover tomato paste, green peppers, pepperoni, onion, banana peppers, and leftover tortillas. I was tired of using the tortillas for veggie wraps so I figured I’d just make a fast and easy tortilla pizza!

Tortilla Pizza

 

Ingredients

Whole wheat tortillas
Tomato paste
Italian seasoning (oregano, basil, garlic)
Red pepper flakes
Italian cheese
Whatever toppings your heart desires!
We used:
Onion
Spinach
Green Peppers
Pepperoni
Banana peppers

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2) Place tortillas on a cookie sheet. Spread tomato paste onto tortillas and season with Italian seasoning and red pepper.

3) Top with whatever veggies/meats you’ve chosen. Top with cheese.

4) Bake for approximately 12 minutes, or until cheese is melted and edges of tortillas are crispy.

 

Chad used some leftover onion, green peppers, banana peppers, and pepperoni on his pizza. I just threw a ton of leftover spinach on mine.

I know I always like easy things like this for weekend lunches (it would be good as an appetizer for a get together too!), and it brought me one step closer to getting rid of that darned spinach!

Leave a Reply

