Mexican Casserole

I love Mexican food. Love it. Of course, what I make at home never quite lives up to my favorite restaurant meal (a vegetarian option that is to die for), but I’ll take what I can get.

I made this recipe a few weeks ago when I was in the middle of finals. I had intentionally saved it for a busy night because it’s so easy to make, and it definitely did not disappoint. It came together in less than half an hour and was really a great, easy dinner.

Mexican Casserole

Ingredients

16 oz refried beans
1/2 cup diced onion
5 10-inch flour tortillas
1 cup salsa
2 cups Colby Jack cheese

**extra salsa, sour cream, and green onions for garnish**

1) Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Prepare pie pan by spraying the bottom with cooking spray.

2) In a medium saucepan, cook refried beans with onions just until heated through (about 5 minutes).

3) Put one tortilla in pie pan. Spread with bean/onion mixture and place two spoonfuls of salsa on top of that. Sprinkle some cheese on top of salsa.

4) Repeat layers until pie is assembled, then top with remaining salsa and cheese.

5) Bake 15-20 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

Recipe adapted from this one.

 

Delicious!

I used whole wheat tortillas instead of flour. And next time I’ll sub in diced green chiles for the onions–I’m just not a big fan of onions unless they’re really well hidden in things.

If you want to make this for any vegetarians, make sure you grab the vegetarian refried beans. I had no idea they existed until I stopped eating meat, I just took for granted that all refried beans would be vegetarian, but that is definitely not the case.

I’ll keep this recipe around for for my next crazed finals week.


Leave a Reply

