Veggie Ranch Pizza

We probably all know those people who like to dip their pizza in ranch dressing. Or maybe I just know particularly unique people. Either way, I stumbled across this recipe, immediately thought of a friend I went to college with who LOVED ranch on pizza, and I was curious.

In this case, the red sauce is left off the pizza and the ranch is used as the pizza sauce, not just a dipping accompaniment. Throw on some fresh veggies and lots of cheese and what could possibly go wrong?

Veggie Ranch Pizza

Ingredients

1 unbaked pizza crust
1 1/2 cups ranch salad dressing
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 cup shredded carrots
1/2 cup chopped cauliflower
1/2 cup chopped broccoli
1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
Crushed red pepper flakes

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Place pizza crust on baking sheet. Spread ranch dressing over the top of the crust. Sprinkle with cheddar cheese, followed by all the veggies.

3) Top with mozzarella cheese and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes.

4) Bake for approximately 20 minutes, until cheese is melted, veggies are soft, and crust is brown and crisp.

Recipe adapted from THIS one.

The only adjustment that I really made was that I just put a thin layer of ranch on the crust, so I didn’t use a whole 1 1/2 cups. That seemed excessive to me.

This pizza would have been amazing–except I’ve discovered that I have never outgrown my hatred for warm cauliflower. I love the stuff cold, it’s delicious, but cooked cauliflower is awful.

Chad thought the recipe was okay. I believe his exact words were that it was “definitely interesting”, so I’ll count that as husband approved.

We might make this again, but I’ll definitely switch up the veggies. And I do not anticipate that I’ll start dipping my normal pizza in ranch. I’ll save that for french fries. 🙂

 

 


Leave a Reply

