Taco Squares

If you know me at all then you are already aware of my love of easy recipes. Look, I like cooking as much as the next person, maybe more than most people, but occasionally I have nights where I revert back to my old self. That girl hates cooking. She doesn’t know how to do it, she doesn’t want to learn anything about it, and she loves Easy Mac and ramen.

Unfortunately (or fortunately?) I am not that 20 year old girl anymore, so I no longer count Easy Mac as a food group.

Since I can’t live on Easy Mac and ramen noodles like I used to, I have to find alternatives. Recipes that don’t take that much time, but aren’t 90% sodium either. (That may be a slight exaggeration, but holy cow, have y’all had ramen lately?)

Anyway, this was an easy and delicious weeknight meal. It was a nice alternative to tacos and it was definitely husband approved.

Taco Squares

Ingredients

1 lb ground turkey or soy crumbles
1 packet taco seasoning (you can also make your own)
2 (8 oz) cans crescent rolls
1 cup low-fat shredded cheddar cheese
1 cup shredded lettuce
1 diced tomato or halved cherry tomatoes
salsa (optional)
sour cream (optional)
guacamole (optional)

1) Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

2) Cook your turkey or meat substitute and drain. Stir in taco mix (or your own seasonings) and reserve for later.

3) Unroll crescent rolls and place in a rectangle on a(n ungreased) cookie sheet. We had to mess with the dough a little to get it all to fit, that’s perfectly okay.

4) Bake dough for approximately 15 minutes, or until a golden brown.

5) Top with your turkey/meat mixture and sprinkle cheddar cheese on top. Bake for an additional 5-10 minutes, just until cheese is melted.

6) Sprinkle cheese and diced tomato on top, serve with salsa, sour cream, and/or guacamole. Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from What’s Cooking, Chicago?, my new favorite blog.

The only changes I made were leaving off some olives (I hate olives) and I didn’t cool the dough once it was baked.I have to admit that I didn’t read the directions closely enough to realize I was supposed to cool the dough in between steps. Oops.

Regardless, these are delicious and you should definitely make them. And check out that blog, the author is incredibly talented.

Leave a Reply

