Spicy Bean Burritos

Another recipe from Annie’s Eats! If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, what are you waiting for? Go! Really.

This recipe caught my eye because I happened to have a small stockpile of black beans in my cabinet. This happens when you don’t eat meat–somehow you manage to accumulate a ton of beans. Or maybe it’s just me and I’m crazy. Who knows. 🙂

Either way, this was a good way to get rid of the beans, and Chad happened to love it. Plus it’s another easy dinner meal, so definitely a win-win.

Spicy Bean Burritos

Ingredients

For the bean filling:

2 teaspoons vegetable oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon minced chipotle in adobo sauce
1 teaspoon ground cumin
¼ teaspoon kosher salt
Dash cayenne pepper
1/3 cup water
2 (15 oz.) can black beans, drained and rinsed
6 Tablespoons fresh salsa
To assemble:

6 (10-inch) flour tortillas, warmed
Shredded cheese
Diced tomatoes
Shredded lettuce
Chopped green onions
Low-fat sour cream

1) Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat. When hot, add garlic, chili powder, chipotle, cumin, salt and cayenne. Cook, stirring constantly, for about a minute, until fragrant.

2) Add the beans and water and bring to a boil. Once boiling, reduce the heat to medium low and simmer for 10-15 minutes.

3) Remove skillet from heat, add salsa, and mash mixture with a fork.

4) Spoon about 1/3 of a cup of the mixture down the center of the tortilla and garnish with cheese, onions, tomatoes, lettuce, sour cream, and extra salsa. Roll up burrito style and serve immediately.

Recipe adapted from Annie’s.

Like I said, Chad loved this recipe. I was not a huge fan, but it wasn’t because of the flavors. I’m weird about textures, and even though I mashed the beans, there were still chunks. It just weirded me out. I think if I make it again I might puree the filling to make it smooth.

But don’t let my texture craziness keep you from trying the recipe. The flavors were really good. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

