Weekly Menu:May 9th-15th

It’s been a while, but I figured I should take some of my lazy Sunday time and update! As usual, I’ve been busy with school. Nothing too exciting there, unless you’re like me and you find PICC lines and G tubes interesting.

This has been an awesome weekend. We (Chad, me, my mom, and my sister-in-law) went to see Bob Seger in concert. Nothing is more awesome than seeing a 66 year old man dancing around stage and singing a song called “The Horizontal Bop”. Seriously. If you get a chance to catch one of his tour dates, you should absolutely do it. You can tell he just loves performing and I love, love him.

Anyway, moving on!

Chad and I have recently decided that we are wasting way too much money by trying to shop for two weeks at a time. The veggies and other fresh foods tend to go bad before the end of the second week and I feel like I’m throwing money down the toilet. We cook a LOT with fresh foods as opposed to frozen or canned (although we use those on occasion as well) so it was a real problem.  Because of that, we’re only shopping week to week now. And we’ve revamped the way we make our weekly menu.

If we have too much leeway in our menu plan, we have a tendency to say “Umm–I don’t want to cook, let’s eat out!” and that isn’t good for our budget our or calorie intake. So we’re going to focus on what are essentially “theme” days. Don’t get too excited, I’m not going all out or anything, but we will have set days where we cook a specific type of food, and every night is planned out. Obviously there is still wiggle room and if we really don’t want pasta on pasta night, we can switch it for another day, but I figured this would work best. Plus it helps me plan recipes and cuts down our eating out to twice a month, on preplanned nights.

So, our nights are:

Monday- Pasta night
Tuesday- Leftovers or (if there aren’t leftovers) turkey/veggie burgers
Wednesday- New Recipe Night (I get to pick whatever new recipe my little heart desires for this night.)
Thursday-Grill Night (recipes for the George Foreman or the outside grill)
Friday- Pizza Night
Saturday- Mexican Night
Sunday is our night to wing it. Either leftovers from Saturday, or something easy.

So, with that in mind, this is what we’re having this week!

Monday- Lasagna Roll-ups & Salad
Tuesday- Leftovers
Wednesday- Quesadillas
Thursday-  Panini and salad
Friday- BBQ Hawaiian Pizza
Saturday- Taco Squares
Sunday- Leftovers

There you have it! We’ll see how this week by week planning goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

