Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

Yes friends, you read the title correctly: lemon blueberry cupcakes. Now, maybe I am the only person who wasn’t already on board the “lemon and blueberry are awesome together” train. That is entirely possible, especially since I don’t particularly love lemon OR blueberry on their own, but when I saw this recipe I really wanted to try it. Then I mentioned it to my grandma and it was decided that I would bake these for the next family get together, which happened to be to celebrate my grandparents 50th wedding anniversary.

I won’t pretend to know what it’s like to be married to someone for 50 years. I’ve only been married a little over two years, so what do I know? Well, I know that my grandparents are amazing people, and I am incredibly lucky that I have them in my life.

I also know these cupcakes were delicious. 🙂

Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes

Ingredients

For the Cake

One box yellow cake mix
4 eggs
The amount of oil called for on the cake box
Buttermilk (to sub in for water)
Container of blueberries (The amount of blueberries you need will depend on how many you want to put in the batter and whether or not you plan on using them on top of the cupcakes as decoration as well)

For the Icing
1/4 cup (2 ounces) 1/3-less-fat cream cheese, softened
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
Blueberries to garnish

1) Mix the cake as directed on the box EXCEPT: sub in buttermilk for the amount of water, and add an extra egg. The box should call for three eggs, that means you need four.

2) Add as many blueberries as you like to the batter, and stir to mix in.

3) Pour the batter into cupcake liners and bake as directed.

4) Once the cupcakes have baked, set them aside to cool.

5) Now the icing: Place cream cheese, 2 tablespoons butter, 1 teaspoon lemon zest, vanilla, and 1/8 teaspoon salt in a bowl (I used my stand mixer) Beat at a medium speed just until blended.

6) Gradually add powdered sugar, mixing until incorporated.

7) Stir in juice and mix well.

8) Frost cupcakes and garnish with extra blueberries. Store cupcakes in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Adapted from THIS recipe.

You can, of course, make the cake from scratch, but honestly, subbing in buttermilk in a box cake is so much easier and faster, and I have gotten tons of compliments when I’ve done this. People almost always think the cake is homemade.

I really did try to make the icing as directed in the original recipe, but for some reason it would NOT set up. I ended up picking up some store bought lemon icing (I know, I know) and that saved the day.

In all honesty, this is one of my new favorite desserts. It’s light and summery. The lemon isn’t overpowering and the blueberry is a perfect compliment. Plus the cupcakes are gorgeous! Want more proof?

You should definitely make these for your next summer cookout! I promise they will be a hit!

Leave a Reply

